The Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, acronym CNC-IUTAM, was set up by the National Research Council (NRC) of Canada. It has been in existence for more than 40 years. The management of CNC-IUTAM has been given by NRC to the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME) through a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between NRC and CSME, dated July 4th, 2016. This Committee, in coordination with CSME, provides support to NRC for Canada's participation in IUTAM. NRC pays the annual dues to IUTAM for a Category IV membership on behalf of the Committee. This membership entitles Canada to have four representatives (GA members), and thus four votes in the General Assembly. 

The Committee operates largely as an autonomous (self-governing) body, and as such it has a Chair, an Executive Secretary, and a Treasurer (to be elected). Presently there are ten members in the Committee. The work of the members consists mainly of reviewing and evaluating the proposed IUTAM Symposia and Summer Schools, once every two years. A review of the Canadian papers submitted to IUTAM Congresses (ICTAM) is required, once every four years.

The CNC-IUTAM, in partnership with NRC, hosted a very successful International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from August 21 to 26, 2016 (ICTAM-2016) at Palais des Congres in Montreal. This Congress had a record-breaking attendance of about 2,200 registered participants, including about 250 from Canada. The major credit for this achievement goes to Professor Maciej Floryan, a GA member of the CNC-IUTAM, who conceived and executed it, and was the President of the Congress. He has brought honour and glory to Canada. The Committee is proud of him. 

Professor Marco Amabili
McGill University
Professor Kamran Behdinan
University of Toronto
Professor Sadik Dost
University of Victoria
GA Member, Executive Secretary
Professor Marcelo Epstein
University of Calgary
Professor Maciej Floryan
Western University
GA Member
Professor Marilyn Lightstone
McMaster University 
GA Member
Professor Andrew Pollard
Queens University
Professor Stuart Savage
McGill University
Professor Suresh Shrivastava
McGill University 
GA Member, Chair
Professor David Weaver
McMaster University